My Adaptation of My Grandma’s Sugar Cookies!

1473042_643338639062915_1282398893_n

My Grandmother baked lots and lots of cookies and made lots and lots of candy for Christmas.  I remember it all fondly.  I am torn at these times of year because I to share and pass down my memories but I do not like giving my kids a lot of cookies and candy.  Also, one of my kids has a sensitivity to gluten.  So, this year, I decided to try to adapt my Grandmother’s sugar cookie recipe.  It was a huge success!  These cookies are puffy and soft just like my Grandmother’s!  Merry Christmas and I hope you and your family enjoy!

Ingredients:

2 3/4 C gluten-free flour (or you can use regular, I used Jules brand)
3/4 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cream of tartar
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 C soft butter
1 C sugar substitute (or you can use sugar, I have used both Just Like Sugar and Swerve)
1 egg
1/2 C sour cream
Directions:
Sift together flour, baking soda, cream of tartar, salt and nutmeg. Work butter in a bowl until creamy. Gradually add sugar  substitute and beat until fluffy. Add egg and sour cream, beat thoroughly. Add sifted dry ingredients to butter mixture and beat until smooth.Cover and chill. Heat oven to 400°F. Divide dough into small portions and roll out one portion at a time, leaving remainder in the refrigerator.Roll dough to a thickness of 1/8 inch. Cut with cookie cutters. Place on ungreased cookie sheets.Bake 3 to 6 minutes.  I frosted mine with regular powdered sugar icing which obviously added some sugar:)  But much better than a typical sugar cookie!
One final note: If you want to get more exclusive recipes like this and my exclusive tips for fit and healthy moms, sign up HERE.
Leave a Reply

